top of page

Meet Camila!



What is your hometown in the diaspora?

Takoma Park/Silver Spring, Maryland, otherwise known as the DMV.


Where do you consider your homelands to be?

El Salvador

What has your experience been like growing up in the diaspora and connecting to your roots in your homeland(s)?

It’s been one that has required a great deal of understanding patience, acceptance, growth, and the importance of community. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs with my connection to my roots, where I have struggled to accept the problematic wrongs of the past and present, and my position within these constructs (mainly of race and borders). But one that has ultimately landed in me loving beyond labels, beyond borders, of wanting to dig deeper into what really matters (i.e., the land, my family, our culture, etc.), while of course acknowledging and understanding the spaces I need to take steps back.


Why are you a part of the Chiltepes Chilerxs community?


It’s always so validating and comforting to hear from people who have had similar experiences, as well as hearing about the many varieties of experiences of those that are part of the diaspora. Especially with this community where I’m hearing from folks that didn’t grow up in different areas that may have not been densely populated with Central Americans.



What is something new you have learned since being part of the Chiltpes Chilerxs community?


May be a little silly, but I had no idea what a chiltepe was. So that’s one for starters. I did find it interesting to hear about how Latin American studies programs are structured in different schools. I had the privilege of doing undergrad at a school that was heavily Central American (in the context of the Latinx community), therefore courses reflected that in the Spanish and Latin American studies department. An example being a course I took that was specifically about the Central American diaspora.







Thank you for reading about Camila and her story!




41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page